When you are facing a criminal weapons charge in Illinois, one key to knowing what you are accused of is receiving clarification of the terminology that is used. If a prosecutor has stated that you are guilty of aggravated discharge of a firearm, it is important that you understand exactly what that means.

 

The Illinois General Assembly states that you can commit aggravated discharge of a firearm when you discharge a firearm in the direction of another person. The law specifically mentions firing at school employees, emergency medical and management workers, peace and police officers, firemen and community volunteers, among others.

 

You can also be accused of this crime if you fire into a vehicle that you can reasonably assume will be occupied. This could be any occupied vehicle, but specifically mentioned are vehicles carrying emergency medical workers, or other medical services personnel. You can be accused of this crime if prosecutors believe you were trying to prevent these professionals from completing their duties.

 

If you are standing outside of a building that is likely to be occupied and you fire inside, you can also be charged with aggravated discharge of a firearm. You can be accused of this crime if you fire within 1,000 feet of a school or a school related activity, including within the school itself. Discharging the firearm within 1,000 feet of any conveyance used to transport students can also lead to this charge, even if there are no children aboard. This information is intended for your education and should not be taken as legal advice.